Search Results
The Rockfall Foundation
27 Washington St, Middletown, CT 06457

The Rockfall Foundation is a private, non-profit organization devoted to the conservation of natural resources,More environmental education and sustainable development in Middlesex County. It sponsors education and conservation programs, symposia and meetings with area leaders to build consensus about development and conservation. It holds and maintains undeveloped tracts of land in the county.

The foundation also awards grants to nonprofit groups, educators and municipalities to launch and support projects encouraging environmental sustainability.

The Rockfall Foundation was established in 1935 by Middletown philanthropist and conservationist Clarence S. Wadsworth "to establish, maintain and care for parks and forests or wild land for the use and enjoyment of the public." The foundation is named for the waterfalls in Wadsworth Falls State Park on the Middletown-Middlefield border.

Connecticut River Coastal Conservation District
27 Washington St, Middletown, CT 06457
Formerly the soil and water conservation service, the district is a nonprofit organization devoted to the use andMore management of natural resources in a 26-town area extending from New Britain, Rocky Hill and Hebron south to Long Island Sound. The district provides technical assistance and education in soil and water conservation, erosion and sedimentation control, stormwater management and watershed protection. It partners with federal, state and local governments, and advises farmers, developers, cities, towns and the public. In 1992, the agency launched a program to monitor water quality in the Connecticut River system using a network of citizen volunteers.
City of Middletown Department of Planning, Conservation and Deve
245 Dekoven Dr, Middletown, CT 06457
This department plans and guides all commercial and residential growth in Middletown. The office is structured toMore provide "one-stop shopping" for development proposals by administering five functions: planning and zoning, community development (including block grants and programs for first-time homebuyers and historic preservation), economic development (including grants for small businesses and tax incentives), environmental regulation and zoning enforcement. The department's eight-member staff serves nine citizen committees and commissions.