Elected Officials Take the Oath of Office

Lt. Gov. Nancy Wyman swears in Mayor Anthony LaRosa.

Town Clerk Ron McNamara and Lt. Gov. Nancy Wyman swore in the newly elected officials at a Monday night.

had the privilege of being only person sworn in by Wyman, who was the acting governor since Dannel P. Malloy was out of the state. Wyman thanked and congratulated all of those who were elected.

"I think the local elections are the toughest of all. Because people understand what you do everyday."

LaRosa speaking on behalf of all the elected officials said they were all "appreciative" for being elected by the residents of Rocky Hill.

"I would like to say thank you to all the voters in Rocky Hill for electing us."

The new Town Council conducted a short meeting. Nadine Bell will continue as the Minority leader, Philip Sylvestro will be the Majority Leader and Timothy Moriarty will be the Deputy Mayor. Last term, Sylvestro was the Deputy Mayor and Moriarty was the Majority Leader.

Sylvestro will remain the chairman of the Finance Subcommittee. Joe Kochanek was appointed the head of the Public Safety Subcommittee while Moriarty will chair the Government Operations Subcommittee and Larrye deBear will continue to chair the Economic Development Subcommittee. Barbara Surwilo will be the chairwoman of the Land Acquisition and Farmland Preservation. The Waste Management Subcommittee was discontinued for the time being.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »